Hollow Crown, The

Hollow Crown, The

England Cricket Captains from 1945 to the Present

Mark Peel


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


Award-winning cricket writer Mark Peel charts the development of the England captaincy from 1945 to the present, with portraits of England's 43 captains. Is England's failure to produce sufficient leaders of stature - especially in comparison with Australia - down to individual deficiencies or the exacting nature of the job?


Mark Peel:
Mark Peel has written 12 books including England Expects: A Biography of Ken Barrington (winner of the 1993 Cricket Society Literary Award), The Last Roman: A Biography of Colin Cowdrey, Ambassadors of Goodwill: MCC tours 1946/47-1970/71 (shortlisted for the MCC/Cricket Society Book of the Year 2018) and Playing the Game?: Cricket's Tarnished Ideals from Bodyline to the Present (shortlisted for the Daily Telegraph Cricket Book of the Year 2018).