Unlost

Unlost

A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors

Gail Muller

$4.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

‘Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.’ Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one, she embarked on one of the world’s toughest treks – The Appalachian Trail. An inspiring, uplifting and moving account of one woman’s incredible journey into the unknown and how she reclaimed herself in the process.

As Gail took her first steps on the 2,200-mile trek through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken – ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long.

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter – with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before.

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears and feel hopeful.

Essential reading for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.

Read what everyone is saying about Unlost:

An amazing debut! OMG!... I really loved your book! And so glad that you made this journey!... I'm not a crier, but your last chapter had me almost in tears. So (wonderfully) emotional.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Muller's story is inspirational… her writing is warm and witty, and there were quite a few moments that made me snort or chuckle - or suck in my breath. I read the book in more or less a day - I just had to consume itit was a joy to read a woman's take on it all, let alone a woman suffering a chronic condition so similar in ways to my own. This book does all it can to communicate to its reader that there is worth and joy to be found in pushing the boundaries we perceive around us.’ NetGalley reviewer,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Muller's brave journey is one of enlightenment, perseverance, and strength against all odds, a testament to pushing beyond the boundaries of what our physical bodies limit us. A Great Read!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

As I was reading this book, I found myself holding my breath quite a few times, hoping that she was going to be all right… Gail put everything she went through in this book with such depth that I felt like I was right there with her.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gave me pause to think outside the box. Was I missing out? Has all my stuff been distracting me from growing, living? I found her journey most encouraging and I was so proud of her accomplishments…


Author

Gail Muller:
Gail Muller is an adventurer, writer and educator from Cornwall, UK. Her personal story is one of hope overcoming adversity; managing chronic pain and illness in order to achieve hard and inspiring things. This message of tenacious, hopeful overcoming is riven through her writing, and in the work she does with adults and young people. In her teens she was predicted by doctors to be in a wheelchair by the age of 40, and subsequently dealt with 12+ years of crippling chronic pain from her 20’s onwards. After battling with traditional western medicine, opiates, and no answers she then searched the world for a solution, eventually finding a way to resolve most of this pain and recover enough to live a more than full life. In 2019, once rehabbed, Gail hiked 2,200 miles solo and southbound on the Appalachian Trail – down the East coast of the USA through mostly mountains and forests with just a single pack. It took 7 months in total, and she completed the last 850 miles with two broken bones in her foot – a feat of true strength and resilience. Gail continues to push her own limits and take on long-distance expeditions, learning new skills all the time. She also uses her 18+ years of experience at the top of her game in education as a teacher, leader and advisor to help share the skills and knowledge she has acquired. Helping people to achieve more than they believe they can has always been Gail’s passion. In her writing and motivational talks she speaks about making friends with life-limiting barriers such as physical or mental illness, showing how everyone can realistically manage adversity by embracing it rather than fighting it. Gail is a passionate advocate for the power of the outdoors, and believes that being in nature can deliver powerful lessons that enhance our lives in every way. 

Info

Reviews